Who We Are

Across Indiana, 92 Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) – one in every county – help Indiana residents to conserve land, water, forests, wildlife and related natural resources that encompass our state’s 23 million acres.

The LaPorte County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) was organized by seven gentlemen on July 1, 1964 and is a legal subdivision of the State of Indiana, established by the Indiana Soil Conservation Act of 1937.

Statutory Authority Indiana Code IC 14-32-5-1 (District Law): A district constitutes a governmental subdivision of the state and public body exercising public powers.


To provide information about soil, water, and related natural resource conservation; identify and prioritize local soil and water resource concerns; and connect land users to sources of educational, technical, and financial assistance to implement conservation practices and technologies.

Who We Serve

The residents and/or land users of LaPorte County and others who come to the District with natural resource concerns.


LaPorte County Soil and Water Conservation District exists because of the need for the education and awareness of wise use and proper management of natural resources.